Hoi An: The city of a thousand lanterns - Reisverslag uit Hoi An, Vietnam van Demi van Hove - WaarBenJij.nu Hoi An: The city of a thousand lanterns - Reisverslag uit Hoi An, Vietnam van Demi van Hove - WaarBenJij.nu

Hoi An: The city of a thousand lanterns

Door: Demi Dawn

Blijf op de hoogte en volg Demi

10 Februari 2019 | Vietnam, Hoi An

Today marks my last day in Vietnam, which is why it is time to write about my adventures from the past 1.5 weeks. I actually wrote a whole blog about my time in Hoi An two days ago, but when I was done, my browser decided to freeze and my blog was gone. So, here I am, giving this blog another shot!

After Ho Chi Minh, I spent six days in Phu Quoc. There is really not a whole lot to say about that because I spent my morning lying by the pool and my afternoons lying on the beach. I had a wonderful time at this pretty little island though. I did not see a lot of sights, I did not travel around a lot, but the hotel I was staying at and its immediate surroundings were beautiful. It was 33 degrees and sunny every day, the beach was white, the water was clear... I really have nothing to complain about. The hotel consisted out of little bungalows which were beautiful. At night, the whole place was lit with hundreds of lights and soft acoustic Ed Sheeran songs were playing in the background. The only downside to it all is that I was there alone; it was absolutely the perfect getaway for couples so sometimes I felt a little lonely. I will add some pictures to this blog, but if you ever go to Phu Quoc, I would highly recommend you stay at Ninila Fruit Farm. :)

After my getaway to Phu Quoc, I went to Hoi An. Little did I know that the day I flew to Hoi An was actually Vietnamese New Year (called "Tet"). I had never given it any thought that the Vietnamese celebrate Lunar New Year, just like the Chinese do, so when booking my tickets I never took this into consideration. It was only when someone in Phu Quoc informed me of this fact, that I realized that this holiday would impact my vacation. I was informed that:

1. Tet lasts from the 5th until the 10th of February (which was EXACTLY the same as my stay in Hoi An);
2. Due to Tet, the airports would be crazy busy on the 5th of February (which is when I was flying) and;
3. Due to Tet, many restaurants and shops in Vietnam (and therefore also in Hoi An) would be closed.

Naturally, after having been told the above mentioned things, I was actually a bit bummed out. I had already booked my flight ticket and a non-refundable hotel so I didn't want to waste money but I did feel like if I had known this beforehand, I would have first visited Hoi An, and then Phu Quoc during Tet (as I was not doing anything in Phu Quoc anyway). However, we can't always plan everything and I figured it may actually be interesting to experience Hoi An during Tet. And, I was right.

While yes, the airport (especially at Ho Chi Minh, where I had a lay over) was really crowded, so was Hoi An. As far as I am concerned, all the stores and restaurants seemed to be open. Even when I was in Hoi An, everybody acted like "everything was closed" but I have only seen one restaurant in the whole city that was actually closed. Everything, the market, the restaurants, the shops, was open.

I arrived in the evening on the 5th and I was immediately mesmerized by the city. I already knew that Hoi An was known for its light lanterns which brighten up the city at night, but apparently due to Tet, there were many, many more of those. The whole city was lit up by thousands of light lanterns and boy, is it a sight to see. I am forever grateful that I got to see Hoi An during Tet, although I am also curious to see the difference during "normal" periods of the year.

My hotel was fine, albeit pretty noisy. It was a little bit far away from the city but free bikes were available so that made it way better. I actually felt pretty good cycling around town because I haven't done that for a while and it made me feel like I was at home. The hostess of the hotel was really friendly but very direct in a way that made me a little uncomfortable. She repeatedly told me (throughout my stay) that she really liked me, that I am beautiful, that she loved me, that I look like a model, etc. Of course, she meant it really well, but it made me feel really awkward that every time I went downstairs she'd touch me, point at me, stroke my arm and say "you are so beautiful. So nice." I have noticed this is a thing that happens more often in Asia. I've experienced this in China, Sri Lanka, Thailand, Cambodia and now here. I am not under any illusion that it is just me, I notice that for many Asian women, Western girls seem to represent the ultimate standard of beauty. There are tons of creams for sale here that are supposed to whiten the skin and many women around here put white powder on their faces to look paler. I suppose it's the same as Western women using tanning cream and using bronzer but I always feel really uncomfortable when I am being praised for the color of my skin. All the women around here are so beautiful and it actually kind of hurts me when I see them put white powder on their faces which, honestly, just makes them look sick. I wish that the women who do that see how beautiful they actually are, and I try to make them understand I'd love to have their skin color. But, the grass is always greener, I guess....

As it was Tet holiday, it was really busy during my stay. Also, entrance to the ancient town (which is usually around 6 euros), was free for a couple of days, so I was very happy about that. Words fail to describe how beautiful Hoi An is, both during the day and at night. The small alleyways, the lanterns, the boats at night, everything is gorgeous. I felt really lucky seeing this city and I think so far it is my favorite place that I have seen while traveling the past few weeks. My first day mostly consisted of discovering nice places, trying coconut coffee (what can I say? I am addicted) and trying out Vietnamese dishes. During the day, the crowdedness was manageable but at night it was like King's day in the Netherlands; you could hardly move in the crowd. Especially around the Thu Bon river, there were hundreds of boats with little light lanterns which were a popular sight for many people.

One thing I did find an issue during Tet is that many tour operators do not work during the holiday. This meant that between the 5th and the 10th of February, almost no tours were offered; only one company offered a "Tet tour". So, I decided to book this tour (with some help from my parents!) and I actually had a really good time. We got to try some traditional Hoi An dishes like Cao Lau (a type of noodle only to be found in Hoi An) and we went to the country side to have dinner with the guide's family. This part was actually really amazing, we got to try all these traditional dishes, play some games and see many rice paddy fields. I feel like I never would have gone to the country side by myself so I am happy to have had this opportunity. Afterwards, we went on the Thu Bon river in one of the cute boats and we got to release a "wishing lantern", which is a paper lantern with a candle in it. Once you put it in the river, you make a wish and hopefully it'll come true. :)

I had dedicated the last day in Hoi An to souvenir shopping. I personally do not enjoy haggling or bargaining, at all. It makes me anxious, stressed and I try to avoid it if I can. So, whenever I travel to a country where bargaining is common (which, unfortunately for me, is many countries in the world), I try to dedicate a day to souvenir shopping so I only have to deal with that stress for one day. Over the previous days, I'd looked around and made a mental list of what to get for who and so on my last day in Hoi An, it was time to go and get it! In the end, I actually think I succeeded and that I found some really nice souvenirs for everybody. :) I also bought myself a small bag of "Kopi Luwak", known as the most expensive coffee in the world. I have not tried it here, but I'm taking the bag home and trying it there. :) Very excited about this.

I have also decided that if I ever do want to start a business for myself, it will be a coffee business with coffees from all over the world. That just sounds amazing to me :)

All and all, I just had the best time in Hoi An. I would really recommend you browse through the pictures that I will add to this blog as a picture says more than 1.000 words. :)

My next stop will be Chiang Mai in Thailand and then, believe it or not, I am flying back home in five days. I am actually really excited to go back home because I miss my family, friends, cat, boyfriend, etc. I even miss work! Something I am really excited about though is that I am going to visit an elephant sanctuary in Chiang Mai, where I'll get to cuddle with the elephants! Otherwise I have no plans yet, but I'll probably take it easy and prepare to go home in a few days!

Lots of love,

Demi.

Reageer op dit reisverslag

Je kunt nu ook Smileys gebruiken. Via de toolbar, toetsenbord of door eerst : te typen en dan een woord bijvoorbeeld :smiley

Demi

Hoi! Welkom op mijn blog. Ik ben een derdejaars rechtenstudente die vanaf 1 Januari t/m 1 Juni in Gainesville, Florida, USA zit. Ik heb hier jaren van gedroomd en kijk er al heel lang naar uit! :) Ik hoop mijn blog veel bij te houden en ik hoop dat mijn posts een beetje interessant zijn om te lezen! See you, Demi

Actief sinds 15 Dec. 2013
Verslag gelezen: 221
Totaal aantal bezoekers 32959

Voorgaande reizen:

04 Januari 2019 - 15 Februari 2019

Thailand, Cambodia and Vietnam

29 Januari 2016 - 30 Juni 2016

Rabat, Morocco

28 Juni 2014 - 26 Juli 2014

Lugo

01 Januari 2014 - 01 Juni 2014

Gainesville

Landen bezocht: